When is it too old to dance?


Going back to take a dance class was very scary, and Indian classical dance even more so. I used to do a lot when I was in my 20s and 30s and loved it.  My first teacher was – amazingly – Ram Gopal, which is a bit like saying you learnt from Nureyev.

But after children, and after years of not doing it and – OK, I’ve got to say it – after having passed the statutory Senior Citizen post….well.  The good news is that good teaching lasts. The less good news is that I can see I cause confusion.

It’s not my usual class teacher, Anusha Subramanyam, who has a strong feeling for seeing dance as not perfect movement, but perfect engagement, and has the soul of a poet anyhow. But when she is not there, I am conscious that stand-in teachers don’t know how to deal with me.

Who IS this ageing person amongst the lissom bodies of the 20-somethings, I can hear them thinking. And I feel like a squat pigeon that has walked into an aviary of rare birds.

IMGP1139

So one of the problems about ageing is not what you can do (because I can still dance, I’ll have you know), but what people think you can do. And it is really hard dealing with perception. I can say ‘Dammit’ and ‘I don’t care’, but part of me feels invisiblised and wants to creep away.

One response to “When is it too old to dance?

  1. good for you – long live the senior citz! Of course its the 2 toned hair that keeps you young and agile – or thats my excuse for not anyway!

Leave a Reply

